Bing Search

This Mortal Coil

This Mortal Coil
Formed: 1983 in Wadsworth, London, England
User rating: 
45 Ratings
Rate this artist:
Disbanded: 1991
Group Members: John Fryer, Martin McCarrick, Ivo Watts-Russell, Simon Raymonde
Biography: The gothic dream pop collective This Mortal Coil was one of the most representative bands on the 4AD label, not least because they were run by 4AD president and co-founder Ivo Watts-Russell. Whether they played covers (of Watts-Russell's favorite artists) or originals, their material epitomized the haunting, ...Read full biography
Released: 1991
Label: 4AD/Warner Bros.
Critics' Rating:
The third and final album by This Mortal Coil, 1991's Blood is neither as unfocused as Filigree & Shadow or as conceptually pure as It'll End in Tears, but it's a solidly enjoyable set. Once again, nearly ...Read full review
Filigree & Shadow
Released: 1986
Label: 4AD/Warner Bros.
Critics' Rating:
The second album by the 4AD collective headed by label founder Ivo Watts-Russell distills the This Mortal Coil concept somewhat. There's more of a core group now, featuring Simon Raymonde of the Cocteau ...Read full review
More This Mortal Coil albums: Main Albums (5), Compilations (3)
more on msn music
Miranda Lambert/Pharrell Williams/Janelle Monae
See highlights from this summers' biggest current tours and festivals
Ed Sheeran: From touring with Taylor to a single with Pharrell, British troubadour navigates to pop's mainstream
Most memorable BET moments: Check out six highlights from the 2014 awards' nearly four hour event
Courtney on Kurt: His widow and Hole front woman reveals Cobain was "desperate" to achieve rock stardom
Prince reigns: The funk-rock-pop wizard reveals another full-length set ready to roll out for fans