Bing Search

The New Pornographers

Formed: 1996 in Vancouver, British Columbia, Cana
User rating: 
143 Ratings
Rate this artist:
Group Members: Carl Newman, Neko Case, Kurt Dahle, John Collins, Daniel Bejar, Todd Fancey, Blaine Thurier, Fisher Rose, A.C. Newman, Kathryn Calder
Biography: The Vancouver indie rock supergroup the New Pornographers features the talents of Zumpano's Carl Newman, the Evaporators' John Collins, Destroyer's Dan Bejar, cartoonist/filmmaker Blaine Thurier, drummer Fisher Rose, and guest vocalist Neko Case. Newman began the band in 1996 as a lark after releasing ...Read full biography
Mass Romantic
Released: 2000
Label: Matador Records
Critics' Rating:
Mass Romantic is a barnstorming debut from the New Pornographers, a collection of Vancouver-based indie rockers. With chief songwriting duties falling into the hands of Destroyer's Dan Bejar and Zumpano's ...Read full review
Twin Cinema
Released: 2005
Label: Matador Records
Critics' Rating:
When the New Pornographers released their first album, Mass Romantic, in 2000, they were a cult sensation, partially because they were comprised of cult sensations from Vancouver, chief among them Carl ...Read full review
More The New Pornographers albums: Main Albums (5), Compilations (2), Singles & EPs (3)