Bing Search

Son Volt

Son Volt
Formed: 1994 in Chicago, IL
User rating: 
33 Ratings
Rate this artist:
Genre: Country
Group Members: Jay Farrar, Michael Heidorn, Brad Rice, Eric Heywood, Dave Boquist, Jim Boquist, Andrew Duplantis, Dave Bryson, James Walbourne, Chris Masterson, ...See All
Biography: After touring in support of their 1993 masterpiece, Anodyne, the seminal alternative country band Uncle Tupelo split up over long-simmering creative differences between co-leaders Jay Farrar and Jeff Tweedy. Tweedy recruited much of the band to form Wilco, while Farrar teamed up with original Tupelo ...Read full biography
Released: 1995
Label: Warner Bros.
Critics' Rating:
Jay Farrar always provided the darkest, grittiest moments in Uncle Tupelo, so it comes as no surprise that Son Volt is a rawer record than A.M., the first album by Wilco, a band led by his former partner ...Read full review
Okemah and the Melody of Riot
Released: 2005
Label: Sony Music Distribution
Critics' Rating:
While there was never much question that Jay Farrar was the guiding light behind Son Volt, he's managed to extinguish any lingering doubts about that issue with Okemah and the Melody of Riot, his first ...Read full review
more on msn music
Miranda Lambert/Pharrell Williams/Janelle Monae
See highlights from this summers' biggest current tours and festivals
Ed Sheeran: From touring with Taylor to a single with Pharrell, British troubadour navigates to pop's mainstream
Most memorable BET moments: Check out six highlights from the 2014 awards' nearly four hour event
Courtney on Kurt: His widow and Hole front woman reveals Cobain was "desperate" to achieve rock stardom
Prince reigns: The funk-rock-pop wizard reveals another full-length set ready to roll out for fans