Bing Search

The Capitol Years



The Capitol Years
Formed: 2001
Group Members: Shai Halperin, Dave Wayne Daniels, Sir Kyle Lloyd, Jeff Van Newkirk
Shai Halperin was a quiet soul who loved making music on his four-track recorder. In summer 2001, Halperin released the lo-fi package Meet Yr Acres. It was a silent bomb, for critics around the globe praised Halperin's work. During this time, Halperin was urged to make his glorious sweet sound much bigger. He brought in former Mastercaster mates Sir Kyle Lloyd (drums) and Dave Wayne Daniels (bass) to flesh out what would become the Capitol Years. The trio mixed a heavy noise rock sound with threads of '60s pop in their home base of Philadelphia. Guitarist Jeff Van Newkirk was added to the fold in February 2002, giving the Capitol Years an extra rock edge. Tours with the Mooney Suzuki, Clem Snide, and the Sadies soon followed. The Capitol Years recorded The Jewelry Store EP in just six days, and it arrived in stores in spring 2003. It was followed by Pussyfootin, a full-length collection of outtakes that focused on the group's folkier side. In 2005, the band released the rowdy power pop gem Let Them Drink. The self-produced Dance Away the Terror arrived in 2006 and marked the band's finest set of songs to date. ~ MacKenzie Wilson, Rovi
more on msn music
Miranda Lambert/Pharrell Williams/Janelle Monae
See highlights from this summers' biggest current tours and festivals
Ed Sheeran: From touring with Taylor to a single with Pharrell, British troubadour navigates to pop's mainstream
Most memorable BET moments: Check out six highlights from the 2014 awards' nearly four hour event
Courtney on Kurt: His widow and Hole front woman reveals Cobain was "desperate" to achieve rock stardom
Prince reigns: The funk-rock-pop wizard reveals another full-length set ready to roll out for fans